This cemetery was founded by the Guion family who were one of the early first settlers to the county. They owned vast swaths of land in the area and even named the nearby creek Guion Creek. This cemetery was a private cemetery run by the family and used almost exclusively for the burial of members of the Guion cemetery.
This cemetery contains almost exclusively members of the Guion family. The earliest grave stone that is legible is from 1809. The last legible one is from 1901.
You can find it located behind a private residence on Stuart Avenue in the Rye Neck section of the Village of Mamaroneck. It contains 44 gravestones in all and is nestled on the shore of Guion Creek.
In the early 1990’s the town supervisor Mr. Donald B. Gioffre visited the Stuart Avenue Association and offered the towns assistance in maintaining the cemetery. At that time the association turned down this help due to a fear of Vandalism. They later changed their decision and asked the town for help after the cemetery fell into disrepair and became infested with poison ivy and poison oak. At that time the town treated the poison ivy/oak and offered heavy duty equipment to help with clearing the overgrown shrubs and grasses.