How do I..
Q: How do I get a Marriage License?
A: Spouses must apply in person together. They do not need an appointment to obtain the license. Both spouses must provide an original or certified copy of their birth certificate and a valid photo ID such as a driver’s license or passport. If either was previously married, a judgment of divorce decree or a death certificate must be provided. A baptismal certificate may be used in place of a birth certificate if it shows full name, date of birth and place of birth. The fee is $40.00, in cash or a money order. Once the license is issued, there is a 24-hour waiting period before a marriage ceremony can be performed, but the license is valid for 60 days. Information can be obtained in the Town Clerk’s Office in English and in Spanish. Transcripts of marriage licenses can be obtained in the office where the original marriage license was issued.
Q: How do I get a Dog License?
A: All Rye Brook residences are required to license their dog(s) and to renew that license every year with the Town Clerk. Licensing should be done when the dog is at least 4 to 6 months old. Owners must show proof of rabies vaccination and a spay or neuter certificate. If the dog is spayed or neutered, the fee is $2.50. If the dog is not, the fee is $10.50. The license renewal form will be mailed to the owner from Albany.
Q: How do I get a Hunting License?
A: License year: Annually October 1 through September 30; Requirements: A previous hunting license, or the certification of a Hunter Education Course or a Bow Education Course, depending on the license requested. All applicants must provide proper identification. Lifetime licenses: Available to only New York State residents who may use a driver’s license, utility bill, bank statement, etc. for proof of residence. Minors: Minors may not hunt without a license. If trained, junior hunting licenses begin at age 12. Once a minor reaches the age of 16, he or she must purchase an adult license. Seniors: Seniors become eligible for reduced-fee licenses at the age of 65. At the age of 70, applicants become eligible for a combination of senior and free licenses.
Q: How do I get a Fishing license?
A: License year: Annually October 1 through September 30 Sales year: All year round Type of licenses: 1 day, 7 days, or Seasonal Requirements: All applicants only to New York State residents who may use a driver’s license, utility bill, bank statement, etc. for proof of residence. Minors: Minors under the age of 16 do not need a fishing license. Once an applicant reaches the age of 16, he or she must purchase an adult license. Seniors: Seniors at the age of 65 may purchase a fishing license for $5.00.
Q: How do I request records and documents under the Freedom of Information Act?
A: Freedom of Information Forms are available on the Forms Page of this website.
Q: How do I request a Death Certificate?
A: The Town Clerk is the registrar for deaths that occur only in the Village of Rye Brook. Death Certificates can only be given to immediate family members or an attorney representing the estate of the deceased.
Q: How do I pay a parking ticket?
A: If you would like to Pay a Parking Ticket or request a hearing, come to the Town Court at 10 Pearl Street Port Chester, NY 10573 Cash or Check only. The Court Offices are open: 8:30AM to 4:00PM Mondays through Fridays, except for public holidays. They can be reached at the numbers below: